DP2-161-4L

$309.99
In stock
SKU
DP2-161-4L
DP2-161-4L is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 220.
  • y_2021, m_5, d_8, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_DP2-161-4L, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nightowl
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 103.17ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
16 Channel 1080p Wired Security System with 1TB Hard Drive and 4 1080p Wired Spotlight Cameras
DP2-161-4L
DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L DP2-161-4L Night Owl HD Wired DVR Systems with Unique Enhanced Security

Key Features

  • 1080p HD Wired Video Security System with 1TB Pre-Installed Hard Disk Drive (HDD)
  • 1080p HD Wired Indoor/Outdoor Spotlight Cameras
  • Unique Enhanced Security
  • Built-In Motion-Activated Spotlights
  • Human Detection Technology Reduces False Alerts to your Smart Device
  • Remote Viewing with No Monthly Fees
  • Real-time Alerts Sent to Your Smart Device
  • NOTE: The cameras and DVR are specific to the DP2 series and are not backward compatible with other Night Owl® wired products.

System Overview

Proudly American, Night Owl® introduces our 1080p HD Wired Security System with Human Detection Technology, Built-In Motion-Activated Spotlights, and Unique Enhanced Security Features. A Built-In Motion-Activated Spotlight activates anytime one of the cameras senses human motion. Human Detection Technology uses advanced algorithms to detect human motion, thereby reducing false alerts to your Smart Device and saving hard disk drive (HDD) space. Facial Capture Technology captures a person’s face from up to 10 ft. away from the camera. It sends an alert to your Smart Device with the captured face so you can decide whether it is a familiar or unfamiliar person. Adding an extra layer of security to your world, Night Owl® is introducing Unique Enhanced Security features. New to video security systems, Single Sign-On and 2-Step Verification protects your privacy and prevents unverified access to your device. Also, the DVR uses Anti-Theft Technology to send you real-time alerts if it's moved, so you're always in the know. There are absolutely no fees for storing your recordings! Simply keep everything on the pre-installed HDD. The weather-resistant indoor/outdoor cameras continue recording in full-color HD video even in low-light settings. Our Color Night Vision, known as L2 Color Boost® Technology, provides video in full-color only switching to Night Vision when necessary. Night Vision up to 100 ft. and wide-angle viewing provides extreme coverage for your home or business.

Night Owl’s wired technology uses a secure hardwired connection for real Closed-Circuit Video Security (CCTV). A wired connection delivers uninterrupted viewing and recording with no delays, providing you with true around the clock protection. Our systems work alongside a free remote viewing app for iOS® and Android™ Smart Devices, so you are always connected to your world. Plus, you have access to free 24/7 technical support! Experience the quality, reliability, and excellent customer service of Night Owl® with our new 1080p system.

 

 

 

U.S. Owned, U.S. Based and Controlled: America’s #1 Wired Video Security Brand*

With cutting-edge technology and the consumer's privacy at heart, Night Owl® is the #1 Wired Security Camera Brand in the U.S.* Night Owl® is U.S. Based, U.S. Owned, and takes a firm stance on ensuring consumer privacy. Our products are designed and engineered in the United States and help protect homes & businesses across the globe. We've got your world covered.

 

 

Unique Enhanced Security

Enhanced security features, unique to video security systems, protect your privacy, data, and DVR. Single Sign-On prevents login credentials from being compromised. The 2-Step Verification feature uses multiple authentication steps to help keep the bad guys out. Anti-Theft Technology sends real-time alerts to your Smart Device if the DVR is moved. A pre-installed HDD offers local storage, 24/7, with no recording, and automatic overwrite. Finally, the Internet is only required for remote viewing and receiving alerts to a Smart Device.

 

 

Free App with Real-time Notifications, No Fees!

Keep an eye on your world from anywhere in the world. Night Owl® makes remote viewing easy, and there are no monthly fees. We have free Night Owl® apps for iOS® and Android™ Smart Devices. Our Human Detection Technology uses advanced algorithms to focus on human movement and sends real-time alerts notifying you immediately. View, playback, save, and share videos and images from each motion detection security camera on your Smart Device.

 

 

1080p HD Wired Spotlight Cameras with Color Night Vision

See intricate details with clarity and precision each 1080p High Definition motion sensor security camera provides. A bright Built-In Motion-Activated Spotlight wards off potential intruders. Easily control the lights to suit your preference. Color Night Vision with L2 Color Boost® Technology captures full-color video in low-light settings, only switching to Night Vision if necessary. When the light fades to darkness, the motion sensor camera continues recording in black and white Night Vision with up to 100 ft. of visibility.

 

 

Free 24/7 Technical Support, Available 365 Days a Year

At Night Owl®, our goal is to provide an unparalleled experience for any technical support required. We provide more assistance than any other security brand. Why call? Our support site has it all! Access FREE 24/7 support, 365 days a year, on our support site, which has an extensive library of how-to-videos and support articles. Live Chat with our Tech Support Team or use our bi-lingual phone support (English and Spanish).

 

Footnotes:
(1) Internet and Smart Device access requires a router and High-Speed Internet connection with a minimum 3 Mbps upload speed. If your DVR is not connected to the Internet, you will not be able to remotely view your system on your Smart Device. May require a free firmware update.
(2) The DVR and Push Alerts are currently accessible on iPhone®, iPad®, and AndroidTM running on 4G/5G Smart Devices. Night Owl® doesn’t charge monthly fees to view or control your DVR over the Internet and/or Smart Device. Carrier fees and charges may apply.
(3) Night Owl® Apps are free downloads compatible with Apple® and Android™ devices only. Compatibility at the time of manufacturing. Future Android™ and iOS® updates may affect the App experience.
(4) Night Vision range up to 100 ft. under ideal conditions. Objects at or beyond this range may be partially or completely obscured, depending on the camera position.
(5) Recording capacity may vary. The size of your pre-installed hard drive will affect recording capabilities. Optimal recording based on using the lowest recording quality settings with one camera.
(6) Video streaming may be subject to interruptions or failures for reasons beyond Night Owl’s control, such as intermittent Wi-Fi or service provider outages. All features require ideal conditions and the latest firmware updates to provide accurate results.
(7) Night Owl® does not provide third-party monitored emergency notification or response.
(8) Human Detection Technology is only compatible with select models. Please refer to NightOwlSP.com for more information regarding compatibility.
(9) The following items are not included and are only for demonstration: TV's, Monitors, Routers, Phones, Tablets, Smart Devices, and any item not specifically listed as included.

Hello

 

Disclaimer: Certain uses, publication and/or distribution of video/audio recordings from security cameras and/or audio devices are prohibited or restricted by federal, state and local laws. When enabling and/or using audio recording features with your hidden security camera, be sure to comply with the laws in your country, state, and locality. iOS is a trademark or registered trademark of Cisco in the U.S. and other countries and is used under license. iPhone, iPad, Mac and Mac OS X are registered trademarks of Apple Inc. Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 10 are registered trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. Google, Google Home, Chromecast and related marks and logos are trademarks of Google LLC.

ATTN CA RESIDENTS: WARNING: This product can expose you to Polybrominated biphenyls, which is known to the State of California to cause Cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.p65warnings.ca.gov

Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality for a great price. Night Owl company is truly high quality stuff. Installation was pretty easy. We went with the wired cameras because our internet is awful. So now we don't have to worry about our cameras not working. This setup has excellent night vision. I was really impressed with the camera quality. I absolutely love that they have an app for your phone. Makes us all feel really secure living out in the country. If you're on the fence about this system I PROMISE you won't regret it!! Definitely worth the piece of mind.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good system. This is a pretty good system, The video quality is not 4k but it's certainly good enough for what its intended use is, plus allow for longer recording time. The night vision works well and can see out to about 60 feet or so. The wiring type was not my preferred, it uses the outdated small coax cables with the screw-on connectors on it, I think they call them BNC connectors. I would have greatly preferred for it to be regular CAT5e wire that my house is already prewired for, it would have been super convenient to just use what was already there rather than climbing throughout the attic running new wires. The recorder box is super easy to set up and use, I was impressed. There are all kinds of settings and adjustments you can do in the software, and it is not required to be connected to the internet unless you want to use the app while away from home. It really is as simple as hook up all the wires and turn it on.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loving night owl system I absolutely love my new security camera system, my oldest son and I installed these, and if you need help anytime of day or night just call the help line. No need to worry about the set up, they help 100 percent. I can see around my home clearly even at night, I am so at ease while going to work now. I have had this up for about month and everything working great and I do plan on investing in more night owl to surround my whole house. Well worth it. Wish I had done this yrs earlier.
Date published: 2020-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Night recordings need improved Bought this a week ago and found that this system is not very good at night, unless you just want to record objects that are not warm blooded. You will have to provide your own spotlights to see any details of humans that are over 10 ft from the camera or all you get is a blurred out white ghost, totally unrecognizeable.Also the box does not state it isn't compatable with older cameras or that you need a 4k monitor directly connected to dvr to record and playback 4 k images even if other devices not connected directly are capable of 4k, all it will playback is a 1080 p image.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Security System I get this system here because of the reviews I was hearing about them . And I am very happy with them . Itnwas very easy to set up and the cameras have the clearest pictures and the spotlight is so bright by the second night we knew who or what was messing around our yard . It wasnt the monsters my kids thought it was . The spotlight blinded the whole little family of racoons . That was making so much noise . The pictures are so clear . This is so easy to set and Like that alarms are.sent straight to my phone and I can see what is happening at my home when Im not there
Date published: 2020-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!!! Wow oh wow!!! I am LOVING this!!! This was so easy to set up!! I love how easy it was to set up all 4 camera to the DVR! The clear view of the recording at night is great!!! I love how the spot light comes on when there is movement on the camera! The app we downloaded for our phones works perfect also! We get alerts when we are not home! Which i love so i know my packages are there when I am expecting something especially with all our packages coming in for Christmas!!! I HIGHLY recommend these! The quality of the cameras is great! They are nice and feel/look great.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6 Camera Security Cameras Wired with DVR And Hard I got my 6 Camera Wired Security Cameras With DVR And Harddrive Included. I installed the system myself. There wasn't any problems with the installing of them. Installed the wire cameras easily. I like the way the lights come on when someone comes in range of them. This is a very nice security system. And this is a very high quality product. The resolution is very clear on the cameras. Let's me know when anybody comes around. I feel very safe now. I have nothing bad to say about this product. Very easy to use. Can view on monitor or smartphone in which I use both.
Date published: 2020-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If you have trees, AVOID We purchased this system 2/7/2021, the picture quality is good but the FALSE ALERTS are insane. We turned the sensitivity down to it's lowest setting (LOW) disabled motion and only enabled "HUMAN DETECTION" and setup the "SET AREA" to block trees; to no avail. We have trees and this systems alerted every time the wind blew the branches and the movement of HEAVY TREE SHADOWS. We spent 4 weeks working with support as we really wanted it work being we paid for install (lesson learned.. figure out a way to run the system for a few days in the areas BEFORE install).
Date published: 2021-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protect your house with ease. These cameras are down right amazing. I like how even at night they are crystal clear. The Photo quality on these cameras is amazing. They were really easy to hook up. It comes with everything you need. Where I decided to put mine I did have to get a different kind of screws but that wasn't too expensive. I like how not only can I view the cameras on my tv but also through an app on my phone. I also really enjoyed how I can turn off the light motion detector through the app. I now can go to bed with ease knowing my house is being watched and so are my vehicles.
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great security system This is a great security system to have! Installation can seem a bit overwhelming when opening the box but there are step by step tutorials and videos you can watch, if needed. Plus, they have a website and number to call if you have any difficulty with installation or setup. App works well with the system. The 4K makes picture quality very clear! Spotlights are bright and definitely light up the night outside. Spotlights can be turned off for ones used indoors. I like the fact that you can expand the system and add more cameras later if needed. Very pleased!
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just minor difficulties but this is OK I received my security system about 2 1/2 weeks ago and this is a great alarm system. The cameras are very clear to see outside. Very attention to detail and that was something that I was not expecting the most I thought it would definitely be something with maybe a disoriented vision but this definitely blew up my expectations and I’m very pleased with it.The only thing that I had a difficulty with was the set up. I did have a little issue with connecting wires in certain places in my home but that was pretty much it and the set up was fairly easy. I do recommend this security alarm for those home owners who would like an easy set up and for those home owners that have smaller homes but want to have maximum coverage like my home.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy App set up and Super Clear Video! I had these Night Owl 12 Channel 4K DVR with 1TB HDD and 4 x 4K Wired Light Cameras professionally installed for me so they were done right and as soon as they were up, I was instantly impressed with how easy the app was to set up and use (even for me) - I have an iPhone and the set up was very easy. The cameras are also great, I love the very bright spotlights, which add extra security. The cameras also have a very wide view so I can see so much more than with my previous cameras. I am purchasing another set, which will cover my entire property.
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Camera's are too sensitive! I installed the NightOwl system for over a year and have been very satisfied overall until I decided to buy 2 more cameras. I bought 2 refurbished directly from NightOwl and installed them but these 2 cameras are so sensitive that I have them set on low and have almost blocked out every part of the cameras view in order to prevent them from recording nonstop. The only real use I have for these 2 cameras is to be able to look in on these 2 areas of view from time to time.
Date published: 2021-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Capture Feature! I was able to install the 4 camera system without any issues. I connected them to one of our smaller TVs so I can conveniently monitor the cameras while I am home. The images are very clear with great color. The human detection feature with facial capture is my favorite. I don't have to zoom in to see a face, the camera automatically takes a picture. Even the night images are clear and with color. The spotlight is another great security feature. I will definitely be adding on to this system and recommending it to friends and family.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Got you on camera The 16 Channel 1080p DVR with 1 TB HDD and 6 x 1080p Wired Light Cameras is great! It does just as it should but was a bit tough to get going. I really like that there are enough camera to go all around our home 24/7 and that we can check on our home while away. It was a little blurry at first but also got that under control. I will make sure to share with family and friends because I feel the 16 Channel 1080p DVR with 1 TB HDD and 6 x 1080p Wired Light Cameras is something great to have. This helps my family sleep better at night.
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very clear ! Easy to use I got this surveillance camera set to replace my old battery operated cameras . Picture quality is great! It’s not match to having the battery operated camera quality . One camera can capture a large area so I was able to drop downs from 9 cameras to 4 cameras and still capture the same amount of area. Installation can be a pain . But once you have one camera down they all go pretty quick . My suggestion would be to plan out where you are going to run all your cables first and than attack the installation. The app is great , once you play around with it for a few days you’ll have it down . The spotlight leather is also great , not a lot of cameras have and actual spot light built in. Don’t think about it too much just buy the system it’s well worth it .
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind! The Night Owl 12 channel security camera system has provided peace of mind and comfort to our family. Initial setup of the camera system was very easy to follow. I really like the quality of the video the cameras provide, as you can see clearly anyone or anything within the cameras eye. The camera system is very user friendly and has amazing features that help give me and my family a sense of security. I’m very pleased with the quality and performance of this security camera system, and would definitely recommend it to others!
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Camera system is great app is unusable We have owned the night our security system for several years, we are on our third system. The last system that finally wore out this week we purchased in 2017 and utilized The night owl HD app. I utilize an old tablet as a monitor in my work area so that I can see when I have deliveries. The tablet is mounted and displayed my four primary cameras throughout the day uninterrupted. It is too far from the system itself to use a cable to have the normal monitoring. This app is absolutely useless for a constant monitoring. It shuts down right at the most inapt time and then takes forever going through all the steps to get it back up and running again. Basically this app is made my system useless for my every day use and is making me reconsider night owls system.
Date published: 2021-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best system brand out there! I've never owned a nightowl before so this is my first. I'm replacing a old cheaper brand that wasn't living up to what I needed. The 4k resolution system is amazing and so clear, and I mean sharp image of zoom ins! Now when I zoom in on a someone I can see their face real good, or see an object sharp and clear. I love the cameras with the spotlight that kicks on if anything gets in front of them and the night vision is sharp, I have been amazed all around with this system. It was easy to get activated and set up with plugging in some info, the cameras were easy to set up with running the cables to and from the system to cameras. This system is loaded with tons more than my old system, I'm blown away, its definitely the best system brand on the market for sure!
Date published: 2020-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good I really like the 16 channel 1080p DVR with 1TB HDD and six cameras. It was very easy set up right out of the box. It came with good directions and information on the product. I also like how it came with a computer mouse to use with it. You can view motion notifications on your cell phone over the internet. You can view all the video feeds simultaneously using the built in UI with the DVR. The picture is clear, but not as clear is the box shows. I highly recommended it if you’re wanting multiple camera videos!
Date published: 2020-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice system with room to grow. The setup for the night will 4k system is relatively easy. It comes with a generous length of coax for connecting the cameras. My favorite feature is the spot light built in for night time. I live in a very rural area, so it gets quite dark. Having the extra light is nice to have. The cameras themselves put out a great image that I can view on our tv or my phone. This is a great system to gain added security around your property. I plan on adding more cameras that extend to my shop on the back of the property.
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Night Owl Security Cameras This Night Owl security camera and dvr storage set has very clear video. It was pretty easy to set up. The Night Owl app is very responsive. It is easy to adjust settings to control notifications from your phone. It includes the necessary cables and hardware to install the cameras.
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Night Owl security System easy to install The Night Owl wired 8 channel security camera set up. The Cameras are easy to set up, directions that came in box were easy to read, understand and execute. We have not been using the lights, but the vision without the lights is amazing. We live in an area where there are a few street lights. We wanted a wired system as changing out batteries in other systems takes up time, and having to remember to get them down, etc. If you are looking for a wired system, with great video quality, this is a great set.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great security cameras! We have been interested in getting some security cameras from quite a while now. Im glad we finally got them. Its a great investment with great peace of mind for me and my family. The instructions were very easy to understand. The set up of all 4 cameras on the corners of my house were easy to install to. I always thought setting tgese up would be extremely hard and tedious, but it wasnt at all. The picture that shows up on my phone is crystal clear! Im extremely happy over this wonderful security set!
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I can see them coming now! I have the Night Ow CL-D8P12-26Ll system that comes with six cameras but can support twelve with the two terabyte hd. I only have the six cameras so far covering all the approaches such as the driveway and corners with one in the basement to keep an eye on the water pump mostly. With an unfinished basement installation was pretty easy because there wasn't a lot of making wires invisible. If I had to hide the wires in the wall I would have had it installed by a professional. Thank you
Date published: 2020-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality video I Love the high quality video recording, is Is very easy to install in my computer, with the four cameras I can monitored all outside my house, the more incredible is the focus in the face recognition.
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Night Owl 4k Security Cameras The Night Owl 4k Security Cameras are pretty amazing. We love the clarity and that we are able to use thru wifi directly to our television as well as on our phones. They also track people as they come into view so you are able to monitor quickly. The dvr also has a 1 tb hard drive so it holds a ton of video for you to keep on hand just in case anything needs to be watched. As I said before such a great device and I would definitely recommend to all in need of a great Surveillance system!
Date published: 2020-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE the app! Just had my new system installed and I couldn't be happier! Love the easy app. I'm able to quickly scroll through and find videos and playback! also, these cameras come with a spotlight that is SO bright! I had the installer put one above my driveway and anytime any type of motion occurs the lights go off! I live in a nice neighborhood and unfortunately there was a few break ins so I'm thrilled so have these cameras with the lights as a deterrent! love my Night Owl system!!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I had a little trouble with the set-up, but I went to the website live-chat & they talked me right through it. Love the cameras very wide & clear view.
Date published: 2020-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive Security System We've wanted a security system for a better sense of security for our family and it delivers. If we had this last year, we could have found out who hit my parked car! After using it for a few days, I am supremely impressed. The picture quality is VERY GOOD, crystal clear, and the terabyte of storage gives you the ability to record 24/7. The night vision is also super clear. It's actually learned our faces and will tell us when a stranger approaches our house which is really cool. Customer service has been stellar. I had a few questions during set up and called customer service and was on the phone with a tech within a minute. Another really cool thing is the security cameras also act as a motion-activated floodlight, which is very useful at night when I'm taking the garbage out. The app on the phone is straightforward and easy to use. It's really nice especially at night because we can pull it up whenever we want and see what's going on outside. It's also pretty cool to see what animals are wandering around at night. Installation was easier than I expected. With a drill and some good cable runway, it's pretty easy and straightforward.
Date published: 2020-11-07
  • y_2021, m_5, d_8, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_39, tr_181
  • loc_en_US, sid_DP2-161-4L, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nightowl
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Does each camera have an option to disable the spotlight from coming on?

Asked by: Savage Trailer
Yes, the spotlight can be disabled for one or more cameras if desired. This can be done at the DVR/NVR level or remotely via the App. This may come in handy for cameras that are installed inside the home, or during special events where you anticipate a lot of camera activity. For more information on disabling the spotlight, please refer to your product's support material on our support site, linked below. Thank you for choosing Night Owl! https://support.nightowlsp.com/hc/en-us
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-02-04

What software do I need in order to record the video from the DVR to my Mac Laptop?

Asked by: silverfox
Please view the link below for more information. https://support.nightowlsp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053865413
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-02-03

How much fps can this record at?

Asked by: John27
15 FPS (frames per second). Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-02-03

I have Cm-HDA 30 AND W-DMA-SG5 cameras our they compatible with this system.

Asked by: John 99
No, these cameras aren't compatible with this system. This system is capped at 1080p resolution, and these cameras exceed that resolution. Please contact our pre-sales department at 1-866-979-0580 or email sales@nightowlsp.com for more information on compatible products!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-02-03

Can you copy whats on hdd Can you erase whats on hdd

Asked by: Bmac
You can backup your recordings to a USB Flash Drive or External HDD. To erase the recordings, you simply need to reformat the HDD. For more information, please see your manual at the link below. Thank you! https://support.nightowlsp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053865413
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-01-26

I have a DVR-HDA10PB-162-R that is a few years old and has failed. Is this recorder compatable with me current Night Owl 1080p cameras?

Asked by: ProfessorSkidoo
Hi, it would depend on what model number of cameras you currently have. Please call our pre-sales team at 1-866-979-0580 or email sales@nightowlsp.com. Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-12-14

What happens if the 60 ft of wired is not enough?    I need like 20 ft more.  Also does it have warranty?

Asked by: Dannyflex
Hi there. We sell extension cables on our sales site, please view the link below. This will allow you to go further out with the camera. https://nightowlsp.com/cab-2pk1004kv1.html The product comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. Please view the link below for details. https://nightowlsp.com/terms-and-conditions Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-12-14

Are these cameras compatible with the Night Owl HD App on iPhone?

Asked by: reggo
No. This system uses the Night Owl Protect App. Yes, it can be viewed on iOS or Android Smartphones and Tablets, but will not use the HD App. Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-30

Do these cameras have a zoom capability?

Asked by: Anonymous
With the exception of our PTZ (Pan Tilt Zoom) cameras, Night Owl's cameras are fixed lens cameras. This means they do not have optical zoom capability. While viewing in Live View or Playback mode you can digitally zoom in through the App, but you may experience pixelation when you do this. Thanks for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-20

DOES IT RECORD ON A LOOP OR DOES IT NOTIFY YOU IF THE HARD DRIVE IS FULL

Asked by: WILLWALT
Yes to both. It records on a loop so that you can record the full event. Once a motion event concludes, it will be stored to the hard drive and you will receive a real-time motion alert on your Smart Device. When the HDD is full, you can set an alarm to occur to let you know. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-03

installed camera yesterday, waited for night, then walked right up to it with app open on my cellphone. Night vision very clear, but no spot light? I've had my night owl systems (2) for 5+ yrs.

Asked by: Kaveman2769
Hi there. Our spotlight cameras are not compatible with all models. The DVR must be spotlight capable in order to accommodate the cameras. You may receive standard motion detection and live view, but if the DVR doesn't have spotlight capability, the cameras will not activate that feature. Please reach out to our pre-sales team at 1-866-979-0580 to discuss compatibility. Thank you for choosing Night Owl.
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

Does this system record audio

Asked by: Isat
No, this system is not audio capable. We do have several models that are. Please view the link below for one option. Thank you! https://nightowlsp.com/cl-2wnp1-8l.html
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-01-28

What is the warranty on this DVR

Asked by: 02fatboy
Your product comes with a 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty. For more information, please view the following link: https://nightowlsp.com/terms-and-conditions
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

What are the colors of the positive and negative wires coming out of the camera

Asked by: Barbie sharksexy
There is 1 coaxial cable coming from each camera that has a BNC (Video) port (yellow) and a power port (red). Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

does the dvr have wireless connection to the internet?

Asked by: eddwild
No. To remotely view your cameras on our DVR/NVRs, you will need to hardwire the system to your router using Ethernet cable. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-01-06

Does this come in black (black cameras)

Asked by: Dan245
No. Currently, these DP8 4K cameras are only available in white. We do have some 1080p cameras that are black. Please view the link below for more information. https://nightowlsp.com/wm-vdp28-61-b.html
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

Does remote viewing require port forwarding?

Asked by: Rreed
No, port forwarding is not required for use with this system. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

When disabling human motion detection, can that done per camera? If using regular motion detection, does it use your dual sensor technology?

Asked by: Mike123
Yes, you can disable human motion for one or more cameras at your discretion. However, that would revert the camera to standard motion detection. These cameras are not equipped with our PIR sensor and therefore that is not an option. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

How many hard drives can be installed in this unit. Can a usb hard drive be used in unison with the internal for longer recording hours. Don’t refer me to manual it  doesn’t cover a lot. 

Asked by: Jmu243
The unit can record to 1 HDD at a time. It comes with a pre-installed 2TB hard drive, that can be upgraded to a 12TB internal SATA hard drive. Alternatively, you can connect an external hard drive. The manual does cover how to configure the external hard drive should you opt for that. We do not recommend any specific hard drive and do not sell them. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-11-01

What is the model number on this. I have a DVR-HDA10LB16 that quit. Will it work with my cameras? Is it the same thing as mine?

Asked by: Jamz
I am using 2 HDA10  PIR cameras on my DP8 4K dvr they work fine. 
Answered by: Jmu243
Date published: 2020-08-27

Why can’t I change frame rate past 6 frames per second even if I drop down from 8mp to 4mp or even 1080p

Asked by: Jmu243
I called Night Owl Technical Support and was told this system can’t go past 7.5 I.P.S  For some reason mine can’t go past 6 I.P.S 
Answered by: Jmu243
Date published: 2020-12-15

Will The DP8 series get schedule recording added soon. I have a camera I don’t want to detect motion until specific times. My HDA10 has it. 

Asked by: Jmu243
I called Night Owl Technical support and they confirmed this DVR does not have Schedule Recording. 
Answered by: Jmu243
Date published: 2020-08-27

What is the furtherest distance you can run the cable? I know it comes with 60' cables, but can you use a 100' cable?

Asked by: RonTx
Yes, you can go up to 160 ft. from the DVR using BNC cabling. We sell 60 ft. and 100 ft. extensions on our webstore. Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-08-10

Does the dvr have the option to record when motion is detected or only if a human is detected?

Asked by: Leaofhb
Human Detection can be disabled and you can choose standard motion detection. Please keep in mind, you will encounter more alerts and the hard drive will fill up faster with more recordings if you disable Human Detection. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-08-10

What's the furthest distance a camera can be installed away from the DVR system?

Asked by: Jmalcomb
Using coaxial cabling, you can go up to 160 ft. from the DVR. If you need to go further, you would have to purchase a video balun (see link below) and use a single Ethernet cable run (up to 300 ft.). Thank you for choosing Night Owl! Video Balun https://nightowlsp.com/a-vb-poe-bnc.html
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2021-01-06

Looking to purchase a complete wired system. Is the only way to connect a dvr to the internet via the Ethernet cable? Does it have a wireless capability or no?

Asked by: JT2011
Yes. If you want to remotely view your product, the DVR must be connected to your router using Ethernet cable. Wi-Fi connection is not supported. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-07-20

What kind of warranty comes with this refurbished unit?

Asked by: Warranty
All Factory Reconditioned product comes with the same great 1-Year Manufacturer's Warranty. For more information, please view the following link: https://nightowlsp.com/terms-and-conditions
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-07-08

Does the cl-ta2-1618l play audio on all channels?

Asked by: Stevenowman
The cameras included with this product are not audio enabled. Not all Night Owl cameras are audio enabled. Please check the product's specifications. While most DVR/NVRs are audio capable, they are not always sold with audio enabled cameras. If you are in need of some audio enabled cameras, please call our pre-sales team at 1-866-979-0580. Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-07-06

Does night vision still work when the spotlight is turned off?

Asked by: gkjunk
Yes, you will still have up to 100 ft. of Night Vision with the spotlight disabled. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-06-30

This says that this system is in no way backward compatible.... but why does it have 4 inputs for audio yet the cameras it comes with are not audio enabled cameras, and buying any other audio cameras from you will not work because of compatibility issues.

Asked by: Perm
Please view the following link for one option. We have a microphone that can be attached to the camera to begin detecting audio. https://nightowlsp.com/spf-mic-100.html Thank you!
Answered by: Customer Relations
Date published: 2020-06-30
  • y_2021, m_5, d_8, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_DP2-161-4L, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_nightowl
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 64.87ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
© 2020 Night Owl SP LLC